Wednesday, April 02, 2008

Derringer Nominees from the Short Mystery Fiction Society

We are pleased to announce this year's Derringer Award nominees.

The nominees for Best Story 0 to 1000 words are:

--Keri Clark, "Saved" (Mysterical-E, Fall 2007)

--BV Lawson, "Dreaming of a Spite Christmas" (Mouth Full of Bullets,
Winter 2007)

--Jillian Berg, "A Woman Scorned" (Mouth Full of Bullets, Autumn 2007)

--Keri Clark, "Your New Fan" (Mouth Full of Bullets, Winter 2007)

--Patricia Abbott, "My Hero" (D Z Allen's Muzzle Flash, 2007)

The nominees for Best Story 1001 to 4000 words are:

--Beverle Graves Myers, "Brimstone P.I." (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery
Magazine, May 2007)

--Hugh Lessig, "We All Come From Splattertown" (Thuglit, Issue 17,
July 2007)

--Rick Noetzel, "Joyride" (Shred of Evidence, Dec., 2007)

--Jack Hardway, "Handful of Stars" (Mouth Full of Bullets, Issue 5,
Autumn 2007)

--John Weagly, "In the Shadows of Wrigley Field" (The Back Alley,
Vol. I, Nov 2007)

--Camille LaGuire, "The Promise" (Future's Mysterious Anthology
Magazine, March-April 2007)

The nominees for Best Story 4001 to 8000 words are:

--Twist Phalen, "A Trader's Lot" (Wall Street Noir, Akashic Books,
June, 2007)

--John Schroeder, "Devil's Lake" (Futures Anthology Magazine, Jan/Feb

--Herschel Cozine, "A Private Hanging" (Mysterical-E, Summer, 2007)

--Kate Flora, "Mr. McGregor's Garden" (Still Waters, Level Best
Books, 2007)

--Rosemary Harris, "Growing Up is For Losers" (Still Waters, Level
Best Books, 2007)

--Richard Helms, "The Gospel According to Gordon Black" (The
Thrilling Detective, Fall 2007)

The nominees for Best Story 8001 to 17,500 words are:

--Beverle Graves Myers, "The Bookworm's Demise"(Alfred Hitchcock
Mystery Magazine, Dec. 2007)

--Eric Shane, "Paper Walls / Glass Houses" (The Back Alley Vol.1,
June 2007)

--John Burdett, "The Enlightenment of Magnus McKay" (Wall Street
Noir, June 2007)

--Mike Wiecek, "Wasting Assets" (Alfred Hitchcock Sept., 2007)
Clifford Royal Johns, "Forget Me Not" (Mysterical-E, Fall 2007)

Congratulations to the nominees -- way to go!

Joyce Holland, 2008 Derringer Awards Coordinator
Molly MacRae, SMFS Vice President
Stephen Johnston, SMFS President

PS. (In cases of a tie for fifth place, both stories were included in
the selction of finalists.)

No comments: