Saturday, November 05, 2016

A Literary Look at the Last Time the Cubs Won the World Series

A Literary Look at the Last Time the Cubs Won the World Series 


Don Coffin said...

Of the books mentioned as being published in 1908, I have read:
G.K. Chesterson, The Man Who Was Thursday
E.M. Forster, A Room with a View
Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows
Mary Roberts Rinehart, The Circular Staircase
H.G. Wells, A Modern Utopia

Of the authors mentioned as having been born in 1908, I have read books by
Dee Brown
Jack Williamson
Theodore Roethke
Ian Fleming
William Saroyan
Richard Wright
Martha Gellhorn
Claude Levi-Strauss

The following famous economists (or is that an oxymoron?) were born in 1908
(I'm an economist)
John Kenneth Galbraith
Nicholas Kaldor
Leon Keyserling.

Baseball players born in 1908
Three HoFers
Lefty Gomez
Ernie Lombardi
Al Lopez

Unknown said...

I've read the same books you have except for the Wells. I've read THE HOUSE ON THE BORDERLAND, to take its place, though. I haven't read Martha Gellhorn or Claude Levi-Strauss, but I've read Winston Graham.