Monday, June 23, 2008

New Members of the Science Fiction Hall of Fame - EXHIBITIONS - Science Fiction Hall of Fame: "On Saturday, June 21, EMP|SFM [held] its 2008 Science Fiction Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Those being honored this year are Betty and Ian Ballantine (Literature Category), William Gibson (Literature Category), Richard M. Powers (Art Category), and Rod Serling (Film, Television and Media Category.)"


Todd Mason said...

They've done worse, all around. Serling the most questionable.

Fred Blosser said...

The induction of the Ballantines is well-deserved, although it seems sort of neglectful not to give Lin Carter some joint credit for the Adult Fantasy line. At that, for a SF hall of fame award, I would think a stronger argument for the Ballantines would be publication of many Hugo-winning and -nominated novels as Ballantine originals (A CASE OF CONSCIENCE, THE WANDERER, RINGWORLD, etc), or simply providing a steady market for many standard-bearers in the field in the '50s and '60s when it and Ace were the only mass-market publishers specializing in SF.