Monday, June 13, 2011

PimPage: An Occasional Feature in Which I Call Interesting Books to Your Attention

Steve Brewer: Kindle Store: "'Calabama' is hillbilly noir in the vein of TV's 'Justified' or Daniel Woodrell's 'Winter's Bone,' but it's set in the wilds of far Northern California.

It's the story of Eric Newlin, a slacker who works for his father-in-law in the remote town of Redding. A Corvette flies over Eric's head in a freak accident, and he walks away without a scratch. Eric decides it's an omen: His life is about to change. And he's right. His life goes right down the toilet. Within days, he's fallen so far that he finds himself mixed up in a kidnapping scheme with a local crimelord named Rydell Vance.

Leavened with dark humor, 'Calabama' takes a wry look at California's rural, redneck interior, a place full of backwoods bitterness, a precarious place where it's easy for an outsider's life to spiral out of control."

1 comment:

Steve Brewer said...

Thanks for the mention, Bill!